Lecturer of the Year

MPA Lecturer of the Year Award

The MPA Postgraduate Lecturer of the Year award was created to recognise and celebrate excellence in postgraduate teaching. It was a new initiative in 2012 in response to numerous requests from coursework students, who wanted the chance to acknowledge the teachers who had been a major inspiration throughout their postgraduate time at Monash.

The MPA award is truly a decision of the postgraduate community. Lecturers are nominated by their postgraduate students and entries are judged by an independent subcommittee of postgraduates drawn from the MPA Executive Committee. The award criteria was determined from student feedback about outstanding lecturers they encountered in a cross-section of courses and departments.

There are two rounds of nominations each year - one for each semester. The winner will be announced in 2018 at an exclusive award ceremony.

2016 MPA Lecturer of the Year Winner

Dr Michael Phillips from the Faculty of Education, has been named the 2016 MPA Lecturer of the Year! This annual award inaugurated in 2012, aims to acknowledge lecturers who have been a major inspiration to coursework postgrads during their time at Monash.

Dr Phillips was nominated by Jacinta Malborough, a postgraduate he taught in the first semester of 2016. In a heartfelt speech, Jacinta said if it wasn’t for Dr Phillips’ support, she wouldn’t have made it through the semester, let alone the course.

Jacinta described Michael as well organised, skilled at bringing tutorials to life and someone who often went above and beyond the call of duty. The MPA committee and staff congratulate Dr Phillips and thank Jacinta for her wonderful nomination.

MPA Lecturer of the Year Hall of Fame


Dr Susan Lee
Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences


Jonathan Teoh
Taxation Law, Business & Economics


Ms Dana Rowan,
School of Journalism and Australian Studies


Dr Wendy Stubbs
School of Geography and Environmental Science

Professor Jonathon Clough (runner-up)
Law Faculty

Back to top

MPA's 'Lecturer of the Year' award is a postgrad led teaching award presented annually.